1. Religion & Spirituality
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

The Five Practices or ‘Pancha Kriya’ - Hinduism Basics for Children


2 of 5

Utsava: Holy Days
Utsava: Holy Days

Utsava: Holy Days

The Five Practices or 'Pancha Kriya' outline the minimal Hindu practices, also known as Pancha Nitya Karmas that parents teach their children in order to nurture future citizens who are strong, secure, responsible, tolerant and traditional and pass the dharma to the next generation.

2. Utsava: Holy Days

The dear children should be taught to participate in Hindu festivals and holy days in the home and temple. They should learn to be happy through sweet communion with God at such auspicious celebrations. Utsava includes fasting and attending the temple on Monday or Friday and other holy days.

Reproduced with permission from Himalayan Academy Publications. Parents and educators may visit minimela.com to purchase many of these resources at a very low cost, for distribution in your community and classes.

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Hinduism
  4. The Basics
  5. Hinduism for Kids
  6. The Five Practices or Pancha Kriya - Hinduism Basics for Children

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.