1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email

The Eight Rites of Passage or Ashta Samskara - Hinduism Basics for Children


7 of 8

Vivaha - Marriage
Vivaha - Marriage

Vivaha - Marriage

Art by A. Manivel
Sacraments are performed to celebrate and sanctify life's crucial junctures, inform family and community, and secure inner-world blessings. Here are eight of the essential rites or 'samskaras.'

7. Vivaha - Marriage

The marriage ceremony, performed in a temple or wedding hall around the sacred homa fire. Lifetime vows, Vedic prayers and seven steps before God and Gods consecrate the union of husband and wife.

Reproduced with permission from Himalayan Academy Publications. Parents and educators may visit minimela.com to purchase many of these resources at a very low cost, for distribution in your community and classes.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.