1. Religion & Spirituality
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Ashtalakshmi - The 8 Forms of Lakshmi


9 of 9

Ashtalakshmi - The 8 Forms of Lakshmi
Vijaya-Lakshmi: Vijaya means victory. So, this form of Goddess Lakshmi symbolizes victory in all aspects of life - not just in war but also in life's struggles and our little battles. Vijaya-Lakshmi is worshipped to ensure all-round victory in every aspect of life. Also known as 'Jaya' Lakshmi, she is shown as having eight arms sitting on a lotus wearing a red sari, and carrying a a discus, a conch, a sword, a shield, a noose, and a lotus, other two hands being in abhaya and varada mudra.

Vijaya-Lakshmi Prayer Song: Lyrics of the hymn or stotram dedicated to this form of Lakshmi

Jaya, Kamalaasani, Sadhguthi Dhaayini Jnaanavikaasini, Gaanamaye, Anudhina Marchitha Kunkuma Dhoosara Bhooshitha Vaasitha, Vadhyanuthe, Kanakadhaaraasthuthi Vaibhava Vandhitha Shankara Dheshika Maanyapadhe, Jaya Jaya He, Madhusoodhana Kaamini Vijayalakshmi, Paalayamaam ||

Listen / Download - Ashta-Lakshmi Stotra (MP3)

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Hinduism
  4. Gods & Goddesses
  5. Hindu Goddesses
  6. Ashtalakshmi - The 8 Forms of Lakshmi - Vijaya-Lakshmi

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.