1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Ashtalakshmi - The 8 Forms of Lakshmi


4 of 9

Ashtalakshmi - The 8 Forms of Lakshmi
Dhanya-Lakshmi: The second of the eight forms of Goddess Lakshmi or Ashta-Lakshmi is named after "Dhanya" or food grains - full of natural nutrients and minerals required for a healthy body and mind. On one hand, Dhanya-Lakshmi is the giver of agricultural wealth and, on the other, the all-important nourishment for human beings. With her divine grace, one can be ensure abundance of foods - all year round. Dhanya-Lakshmi is shown as having eight hands adorning green garments, and carrying two lotuses, a mace, a sheaf of paddy, sugarcane, and bananas, while the other two hands are in Abhaya Mudra and Varada Mudra.

Dhanya-Lakshmi Prayer Song: Lyrics of the hymn or stotram dedicated to this form of Lakshmi

Ayikali Kalmashanaashini, Kaamini Vaidhika Rooopini, Vedhamaye, Ksheerasamudhbava Mangala Roopini, Mandhranivaasini, Manthramathe, Mangaladhaayini, Ambulavaasini, Dhevaganaashritha Paadhayuthe, Jaya Jaya He, Madhusoodhana Kaamini Dhaanyalakshmi, Jaya, Paalayamaam ||

Listen / Download - Ashta-Lakshmi Stotra (MP3)

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Hinduism
  4. Gods & Goddesses
  5. Hindu Goddesses
  6. Ashtalakshmi - The 8 Forms of Lakshmi - Dhanya-Lakshmi

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.