1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

5 Principles & 10 Disciplines

The Basics of Hinduism


A sadhu (wandering monk) by the river Ganges
Marco Brivio/Photographer's Choice/Getty Images

What are the main principles of the Hindu way of life? And what are the 10 commandments of Sanatana Dharma? Read these 15 easy-to-remember basic tenets of Hinduism as summarized by Dr. Gangadhar Choudhury:

1. God Exists: One Absolute OM.
One Trinity: Brahma, Vishnu, Maheshwara (Shiva)
Several divine forms
2. All human beings are divine
3. Unity of existence through love
4. Religious harmony
5. Knowledge of 3 Gs: Ganga (sacred river), Gita (sacred script), Gayatri (sacred mantra)

1. Satya (Truth)
2. Ahimsa (Non-violence)
3. Brahmacharya (Celibacy, non-adultery)
4. Asteya (No desire to possess or steal)
5. Aparighara (Non-corrupt)
6. Shaucha (Cleanliness)
7. Santosh (Contentment)
8. Swadhyaya (Reading of scriptures)
9. Tapas (Austerity, perseverance, penance)
10. Ishwarpranidhan (Regular prayers)

Related Video
The 5 Principles and 10 Commandments of Hinduism
  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Hinduism
  4. The Basics
  5. Hinduism: 5 Principles & 10 Commandments

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.