1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email

The Basics

Reliable resources to guide you through the basics of this unique faith, its beliefs and practices...and more.
  1. Death & Dying (14)
  2. Glossary of Hindu Terms (19)
  3. Hinduism 101 (7)
  4. Hinduism for Kids (56)
  5. India: Past & Present (54)
  6. Jainism (8)
  7. New Age (6)
  8. Om / Aum (13)
  9. Prayers & Mantras (18)
  10. Reincarnation (13)
  11. Self Development (11)
  12. Shaivism (11)
  13. Tantra (19)
  14. Vaastu (10)
  15. Vaishnavism (13)
  16. Vegetarianism (14)

The 10 Yamas & Niyamas of Hinduism
Learn about the twenty ethical guidelines known as 'yamas' and 'niyamas,' or restraints and observances that an ideal Hindu should follow.

3 Things I Love & Dislike About Hinduism
What are the 3 things you love and dislike about Hinduism? Read what admirers and followers of this universal faith have to say, and post your own thoughts, likes and dislikes about Hinduism - and be heard!See submissions

The Best in Hinduism - 2011 Readers' Choice Awards
The Best in Hinduism - 2011 Readers' Choice Awards. Showcasing the best Hindu organization, magazine, blog, matrimonial site, and online store - as nominated and voted by our readers.

Too Many Gods? - Readers Respond to Anti-Hindu Propaganda
What do you have to say, when a Christian kid’s website says: "Wouldn't you rather have just one God who loves you a bunch than a bunch of gods that don't love you at all?" followed by a more explicit advisory: "Jesus loves everybody, even the unsaved like Habu! Remember to pray for Habu and others like him that they may find Jesus and accept Him into their hearts!” Share your thoughts...

In Search of the Supreme Being
Does God exist? What is the nature of this Supreme Being? Can you describe Him? In what ways can you achieve a union with God? Swami Atma, a French Yogi talks about the Advaita Vedanta, and the idea of Brahman to explain these fundamental concepts.

The 7 Days – Hindu Deities & Ritual Fasts for Each Day of the Week
Each of the seven days in a week has a special significance in Hinduism. About the seven days, the respective planet & deities associated with the particular days, relevant tales and legends, and the gemstones and colors that are said to be lucky for those days.

The Four Ages of Man - The 4 Stages of Life in Hinduism
Hindu men should ideally go through four 'ashramas' or stages in life - the celibate student, the married family man, the hermit in retreat, and the wandering recluse. But most men are so much in love with the second stage that it lasts a lifetime!

Hindu Calendar: Months, Days, Eras & Epochs
What are the months and days of the Hindu year called? The article lists the Sanskrit names of the Hindu months, days and lunar days and their correlation with the Gregorian calendar.

The Four Yugas or Epochs
Read about the four great epochs or 'yugas', and the cursed Kali Yug we're living in. What happens at the end of this age? Let's find out

The Concept of Time
Hindus do not believe in the linear concept of time. Hindus believe that the process of creation moves in cycles and that each cycle has four great epochs of time or yugas.

Highway To Heaven
Our desire to live on earth drives our life. But what happens after we die? How does death become us? Where does it take us? A look at the early Hindu concepts of heaven and hell, death and afterlife, sins and virtues, reincarnation and immortality.

Hinduism for Beginners
If you're new to this faith, here's where to begin. In this simple introduction to a complex religion, get your basic questions on Hinduism answered and explained in brief.

Hinduism: 5 Principles & 10 Commandments
The essence of Hinduism can be distilled into five principles and ten commandments that can be said to form the bedrock of the universal religion of Hinduism.

Common Myths About Hinduism
Hinduism is different from other religions in that it is not a religion per se in the traditional sense of the term. Find out how it is different and why it is unique...

Hindu Rites & Rituals
An overview of the ritual world of Hinduism, from personal daily worship to rites of passage or 'samskaras' from birth to death.

What is Dharma?
It's all about living a life that promises worldly joys and heavenly happiness. It's about what is right!

What is Karma?
Hindus believe that it is Karma or the 'Law of Cause & Effect' that can lead one to salvation. Learn more...

Symbols We Live With
Delve deep into the hidden meanings and origins of major Hindu symbols, including rituals and deities.

Towards Clearly Defining Hinduism
An essay on the crucial importance of clearly understanding Hinduism proper - the "Vaidika Dharma" and the unitive tradition of spiritual expression.

Reclaiming the Jewel of Dharma
In this essay, Vedic scholar Dr. Frank Morales speaks on how to save Hinduism from Universal Radicalism, preserve its uniqueness, and usher in the renewal of authentic Hinduism.

Christianity's Similarities with Hinduism
Author Stephen Knapp points out the close links between Christianity and Hinduism. Hinduism has had a predominant influence on Christianity, and many of the Christian rites could have been directly borrowed from Hinduism.

Is Practising Dual Religion Possible?
Hinduism sees no reason in people confining only to one religion. Of all religions, Hinduism makes it easy to believe in the coexistence of multiple religions.

Time in Hinduism
About the Hindu view of time, the four great epochs or 'yugas', and the cursed Kali Yug we're living in. What happens at the end of this age? An article by your Guide.

Golden Age may begin in 2012
The ancient Hindu Kali Yuga calendar and Mayan calendar were both started about the same time over 5000 years ago, and both predict a rebirth of our planet at about the same - about 5000 years after the calendars started - which might be 2012! We might be living through some incredible changes for the earth.

The Best in Hinduism - Your Response to the Readers' Choice Awards
You nominated your favorites for 5 categories in the About.com Hinduism Readers' Choice Awards 2011, and guided by your enthusiasm we chose 5 finalists in each category. From February 11 to March 8, you voted for the best, and now it's time to congratulate the winners, and share your thoughts!

What are Samskaras?
Samskaras, or Hindu rites of passage, mark the important stages of one's life and enable one to live a fulfilling life complete with happiness and contentment. Read about the 16 major Hindu Samskaras, and the 8 essential rites of passage or 'Ashtasamskara.'

Hindu Human Rights Report
The Hindu American Foundation (HAF) released its 8th annual report on the discrimination against Hindus in countries across the world. This is the only annual Hindu human rights report in the US that highlights the atrocities Hindus face as minority populations in various regions of the world.

The Six Seasons of India
The six Indian seasons classified in the Hindu scriptures are: 1. Vasant Ritu or Spring 2. Grishma Ritu or Summer 3. Varsha Ritu or Monsoon 4. Sharad Ritu or Autumn 5. Hemant Ritu or Pre-winter 6. Shishir / Shita Ritu or Winter In the following pages, read more about these seasons and the start and end dates for this year.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.