1. Religion & Spirituality

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Most Emailed Articles

The Bible and Suicide

Vedic Astrology: Signs or Rashis
The Zodiac According to Indian Tradition

Signs are called "Rashis" (raw-shees) in Sanskrit. This table shows the signs with their rulers, Sanskrit names and symbols, etc. As you can see, the signs are the same as used in Western astrology. However, the nature of the signs, what they do, and the demigods behind them, who control them, are vastly different in Vedic astrology.

Vedic Zodiacal Signs
Sign Sanskrit Name Type Sex Mobility Lord
Aries Mesha Ram Fire
Movable Mars
Taurus Vrishaba Bull Earth
Fixed Venus
Gemini Mithuna Couple Air
Common Mercury
Cancer Karkata Crab Water
Movable Moon
Leo Simha Lion Fire
Fixed Sun
Virgo Kanya Virgin Earth
Common Mercury
Libra Tula Balance Air
Movable Venus
Scorpio Vrishchika Scorpion Water
Fixed Mars
Sagittarius Dhanus Bow Fire
Common Jupiter
Capricorn Makara Alligator Earth
Movable Saturn
Aquarius Kumbha Pot Air
Fixed Saturn
Pisces Meena Fishes Water
Common Jupiter

Note: Vedic astrology differs from Western or Tropical astrology mainly in that it uses the fixed zodiac as opposed to the moving zodiac. Most people's "Sun Sign", that which you can get from the newspaper each day, is usually one sign back when the chart is refigured using Vedic astrology. So, the first surprise using the Vedic system is that you are no longer the Sun Sign you always thought you were. However, if you were born in the last 5 days or so of the Western sign month, then you will probably still be the same sign in the Vedic system.

 Vedic Astrology Links

• What is Vedic Astrology?
• Astro Associations
• Online Astrologers
• Astrology Training
• Astrology: General
• Related Fields
• Software/Audio/Video
• Astrology GuideSite

Subscribe to the Newsletter

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.