1. Religion & Spirituality

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://hinduism.about.com/library/weekly/extra/bl-almanac.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Most Emailed Articles

The Bible and Suicide

The Hindu Almanac 2002
Vedic Calendar Highlighting Fasts & Festivals

Hinduism has been described as a religion of fasts, feasts and festivals. Here's a date-wise list of Hindu festivals and religious occasions for this year. For those of you who fast regularly, a list of fasts during Amavasya, Poornima, Sashti, Chathurthi, Ekadesi, Shivratri, has been added.

Hindu Festivals 2002
January
Makarsankranti/Pongal Monday 14-01-2002
Thai Krithikai Wednesday 23-01-2002
Thai Poosam/Savitri Vrat Monday 28-01-2002
February
Vasant Panchami Sunday 17-02-2002
March
Maha Shivaratri Wednesday 13-03-2002
Holi  Thursday 28-03-2002
April
Hindi New Year Saturday 13-04-2002
Ugadi - Telugu New Year Saturday 13-04-2002
Tamil New Year's Day Sunday 14-04-2002
Ramayana Week Saturday 13-04-2002
to
Sunday 21-04-2002
Ramanavami Sunday 21-04-2002
Hanuman Jayanti Saturday 27-04-2002
August
Onam Festival Wednesday 21-08-2002
Raksha-Bandhan Thursday 22-08-2002
Krishna Janmashthami  Fri / Saturday 30/31-08-02
September
Ganesh/Vinayak Chaturthi Tuesday 10-09-2002
Pitr-Paksha Saturday 21-09-2002
October
to
Sunday 06-10-2002
Navaratri Monday 07-10-2002
Durga Puja begins Saturday 12-10-2002
Navaratri ends
Tuesday 15-10-2002
Vijaya Dashami/Dusshera Tuesday 15-10-2002
November
Diwali Monday 04-11-2002
Bhai Dooj Tuesday 05-11-2002
Vikram New Year  2060 Tuesday 05-11-2002


Hindu Fasts 2002
Months
Amavasya
Poornima
Sashti
Chathurthi
Ekadesi
Shivratri
January
13
28
19
2, 31
9, 25
11
February
11
27
18
-
8, 23
10
March
13
28
20
2, 31
9, 25
12
April
12
26
18
30
8, 23
10
May
12
26
18
29
8, 22
10
June
10
24
16
28
6, 21
9
July
10
24
15
27
6, 20
8
August
8
22
13
26
4, 18
7
September
6
21
12
25
3, 17
5
October
6
20
11
24
2, 16
4
November
4
19
10
23
1, 15, 30
3
December
4
19
9
23
15, 30
2

Related Links
Back to Hinduism HomePage


Subscribe to the Newsletter
Name
Email


You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.