1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Indian Elections Trivia


Updated May 19, 2004
Following the shocking results of India's General Elections, and the inability of the ruling pro-Hindu Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to form absolute majority, the Indian premier Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee has submitted his resignation to the President of India giving way to Sonia Gandhi's Congress Party.

Dr. Manmohan Singh is India's new Prime Minister.

The outgoing leader Vajpayee said: "Elections to the 14th Lok Sabha are over. The voters have given their verdict. I accept the verdict... India is the world’s largest democracy. It is always with the will of the people that governments have been formed - and changed. This power of democracy is a matter of pride for our country, something which we must always cherish, preserve and further strengthen..."

Here are some interesting facts about India's General Election 2004.

1. Parliamentary Constituency with largest number of electors - 3368399 (Outer Delhi)
2. Parliamentary Constituency with lowest number of electors - 39033 (Lakshadweep)
3. Parliamentary Constituency with largest Area - Ladakh (J&K) - 173266.37 sq. km
4. Parliamentary Constituency with smallest Area - Chandni Chowk (Delhi) - 10.59 sq.km
5. Maximum contestants in a parliamentary constituency - 35 (Madras south)
6. Polling station with least no of electors: Only ONE voter in Polling station No. - 29 (Dharampur) in Miao Assembly segment of Arunachal East parliamentary constituency
7. Maximum Women contestants in a state - 61 (UP)
8. Minimum women contestants in a state -1 (Goa)
9. Maximum women winners - 7 (UP)
10. Out of 539 elected MPs, 44 are women.
11. Maximum age of the candidate-94 years (Ramchandra Veerappa in Bidar, Karnataka)
12. Minimum age of the candidate - 25 years (Many).
13. Maximum age of the winning candidate-94 years (Ramchandra Veerappa in Bidar, Karnataka)
14. Minimum age of the winning candidate-26 years Sachin Pilot in Dausa (Rajasthan)
15. Maximum votes secured - Sajjan Kumar outer Delhi - 855543
16. Minimum votes secured - Ashok Kumar Chandni Chowk- 45
17. Minimum votes secured by a winner - Dr. P. Pookunhikoya - 15597 votes (Lakshadweep).
18. Maximum margin, Arambagh PC of West Bengal 592502 votes. Here, the runner -up lost his deposit.
19. Minimum margin, Lakshadweep, 71 Votes.
20. Average age of the elected MPs is 52.7 Years.
21. Number of EVMs used in the Election 10.75 lacs.
22. In Karnataka Assembly elections, in 119-Santhemarahalli Assembly, the winning margin is ONLY ONE VOTE.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.