1. Religion & Spirituality
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

DurgaIn Hinduism, Goddess Durga is regarded as the mother of the universe, and believed to be the power behind the work of creation, preservation, and destruction of the world. Durga is depicted as having eight or ten hands. These represent eight quadrants or ten directions in Hinduism. This suggests that she protects the devotees from all directions. In her many hands, she holds  a number of weapons, which have deep symbolical significance:

  • The conch shell in Durga's hand symbolizes the 'Pranava' or the mystic word 'Om', which indicates her holding on to God in the form of sound.
  • The bow and arrows represent energy. By holding both the bow and arrows in one hand "Mother Durga" is indicating her control over both aspects of energy - potential and kinetic.
  • The thunderbolt signifies firmness. The devotee of Durga must be firm like thunderbolt in one's convictions. Like the thunderbolt that can break anything against which it strikes, without being affected itself, the devotee needs to attack a challenge without losing his confidence.
  • The lotus in Durga's hand is not in fully bloomed, It symbolizing certainty of success but not finality. The lotus in Sanskrit is called "pankaja" which means born of mud. Thus, lotus stands for the continuous evolution of the spiritual quality of devotees amidst the worldly mud of lust and greed.
  • The "Sudarshan-Chakra" or beautiful discus, which spins around the index finger of the Goddess, while not touching it, signifies that the entire world is subservient to the will of Durga and is at her command. She uses this unfailing weapon to destroy evil and produce an environment conducive to the growth of righteousness.
  • The sword that Durga holds in one of her hands symbolizes knowledge, which has the sharpness of a sword. Knowledge which is free from all doubts, is symbolized by the shine of the sword.
  • Durga's trident or "trishul" is a symbol of three qualities - Satwa (inactivity), Rajas (activity) and Tamas (non-activity) - and she is remover of all the three types of miseries - physical, mental and spiritual. Read more....
October 12, 2010 at 8:18 am
(1) angel says:

badly needed before my exam
gud job

October 15, 2010 at 12:23 am
(2) Raw Foodist says:

Very good info. I lived in delhi for 1 year in 2006, and always try to learn more about the culture.. Thank You.

October 20, 2010 at 1:30 am
(3) vinay says:

our scriptures, it is eternal source of spritual knoweldge,
every concept is explained by the help of beautiful expamples, for our understanding,
we the people are disguise it,
education begaining in KG up to Universities,Person get his deegrees and docterates,
But sprituality, we Never try to overcome the KG,
the story we heared Krishna kill the Asuras by the help of Sudharasana Chkaram,and giving the Shapmoksha,
never try to understand what is sudharasna and shapmoksha
su darshan, giving the new birthe, with full knoledge and bliss, people is the victim of ignorance , krishna kill the ignorance by the help of sudrashanm,and giving the moksha,
thanks for your real knoweldge ,

January 7, 2012 at 10:43 pm
(4) joshna says:

thanks, i rally needed these informations

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.